© 2018 by The Fiction Fox. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • The Fiction Fox

Year in Review: Most Anticipated 2020 Releases

Bijgewerkt: 27 dec 2019



With 2020 mere days away, it's time for a series of posts I love to do around this time of year: my 2019 in Review, in which I'll be talking about my most surprising, disappointing, best, worst and more. Before this week of reflection starts however, I wanted to do some prospecting as well. Therefore part one of my Year in Review will be about 5 books per favourite genre that I'm excited for in 2020.

All novels will be linked to their respective Goodreads pages, where you can find a more extensive synopsis and actual releasedate (as those are subject to change).



Literary Fiction


1. The Glass Hotel – Emily St. John Mandel

The first book on this list is solely here by merit of the author. Emily St. John Mandel is the author of one of my favourite books of all time (Station Eleven), and so I'll automatically be interested in any of her new works. As I myself am planning on going in blind, I'll direct you towards Goodreads for an indepth synopsis if you're interested. For me, the promise of more of Emily's writing is enough to put this high on my list. Releasedate: February 15th 2020



2. The Lost Book of Adana Moreau – Michael Zapata This novel was brought to my attention by one of my friends, who described this as "The Shadow of the Wind but better". Although that's a bold claim, it did grab my attention, and in all fairness: the synopsis does remind me quite a bit of Ruiz Zafons famous novel. In 1929 in New Orleans, a Dominican immigrant named Adana Moreau writes a science fiction novel titled Lost City. Decades later in Chicago, Saul Drower is cleaning out his dead grandfather’s home when he discovers a mysterious package containing a manuscript titled A Model Earth, written by none other than Adana Moreau. We follow Saul on his search to find out more about this mysterious writer, what became of her family, and how the book ended up in his hands in the end. Releasedate: February 4th 2020


3. The Island Child – Molly Aitken The Island Child was brought to my attention by one of my favourite authors and booktubers Jen Campbel in her video on her most anticipated novels of 2020. In all fairness, that recommendation alone is usually enough for me to put a novel on my TBR. In addition, the synopsis reminded me somewhat of The Gloaming, which is one of my all-time favourite novels, which got me even more hyped to read this debut about identity and motherhood, freedom and fate and the healing power of stories, deeply rooted in Irish Folklore. Releasedate: March 3rd 2020



4. The Lightness – Emily Temple The Lightness is an LGBTQ coming-of-age novel that drew me in with its stunning coverdesign and beautifully worded synopsis. For that reason: I highly recommend you read the exact synopsis for yourself, instead of my basterdized summary of it. To quote just one line of it: "The Lightness juxtaposes fairy tales with quantum physics, cognitive science with religious fervor, and the passions and obsessions of youth with all of these, to explore concepts as complex as faith and as simple as loving people—even though you don’t, and can’t, know them at all." This sounds like the hard-hitting, beautifully written and possibly slightly magical literary fiction that I love. Releasedate: May 16th 2020


5. Sisters – Daisy Johnson

Daisy Johnson completely blew my mind with her debut novel Everything Under in 2018. Reading her short story collection Fen only solidified my belief that she might be one of the most promising young authors of our generation to me, so clearly I want to read everything she comes out with. I'm sure"a haunting story about two sisters caught in a powerful emotional web and wrestling to understand where one ends and the other begins" will be in good hands with her.

Releasedate: August 25th 2020




Fantasy/Science Fiction



1. The Vanished Birds – Simon Jimenez

A mysterious child lands in the care of a solitary woman, changing both of their lives forever in this captivating debut of connection across space and time. This literary science fiction novel follows the bond between a woman outside time and a mysterious silent boy, broken by his past. This promises to be exactly the type of science fiction I love: mysterious, thoughtprovoking and touching. Releasedate: January 14th 2020



2. The City We Became – N.K. Jemisin

"Every city has a soul. Some are as ancient as myths, and others are as new and destructive as children. New York City? She's got five."

Despite the fact that I didn't really enjoy N.K. Jemisins writingstyle in her Broken Earth Trilogy, I love her ideas, creativity and the effort she puts into worldbuilding. I'm very intrigued to see how that skill translates into a more modern and familiar setting.

Releasedate: March 26th 2020




3. The Girl and the Stars – Mark Lawrence On Abeth the vastness of the ice holds no room for individuals. Survival together is barely possible. No one survives alone.

Yaz is torn from the only life she’s ever known, away from her family, from the boy she thought she would spend her days with, and has to carve out a new path for herself in a world whose existence she never suspected. A world full of difference and mystery and danger. Yaz learns that Abeth is older and stranger than she had ever imagined. She learns that her weaknesses are another kind of strength. And she learns to challenge the cruel arithmetic of survival that has always governed her people. Only when it’s darkest you can see the stars. The Girl and the Stars is the first in a new high fantasy series by Mark Lawrence, set in the same world as his Ancestors trilogy.

Releasedate: April 30th 2020


4. A Peculiar Peril – Jeff Vandermeer The first book in a new YA fantasy duology from a bestselling genre-expanding master, about a teenager who embarks on a quest to protect the world from an alternate universe where magic abounds and history has been rewritten.

What can I say: I'm a simple girl... Jeff Vandermeer writes a bizarre but interesting sounding book; I want to read it...

Releasedate: July 7th 2020





5. Doors of Stone – Patrick Rothfuss This has to be one of my most anticipated novels of all time, and I couldn't be happier that it finally looks like a releasedate is in sight. This third and last novel in the epic fantasy King Killer Chronicals has been 9 years in the making, but preorders are being set for August 11th 2020. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that nothing else comes between us and this novel, because I don't know how longer we can keep up this anticipation. Releasedate: August 11th 2020

Young Adult


1. King of Crows – Libba Bray

I started an fell in love with The Diviners series during 2019, so I couldn't be happier for book 4 to be visible on the horizon. King of Crows is the finale in this stunning supernatural fantasy quartet, set in 1920's New York, and is bound to be as magical, hilarious, touching and unsettling as its predecesors. Releasedate: February 4th 2020






2. Turtle Under Ice – Juleah Del Rosario You all know about my love for books that handle grief well, so no surprise, there had to be one on such themes on this list: After Rowena's mother died a few years ago, she and her sister, Ariana, drifted into their own corners of the world, each figuring out in their own separate ways how to exist in a world in which their mother is no longer alive.

But then Ariana disappears under the cover of night in the middle of a snowstorm, leaving no trace or tracks. When Row wakes up to a world of snow and her sister’s empty bedroom, she is left to piece together the mystery behind where Ariana went and why, realizing along the way that she might be part of the reason Ariana is gone. Releasedate: February 11th 2020


3. The Vanishing Deep – Astrid Scholte The Vanishing Deep has a synopsis that is too long for me to cover completely in this list, so if you're interested, I'd happily direct you to its Goodreads page. All I'll say here is that this is a marine fantasy by the author of Four Dead Queens, set in a world where the dead can be revived, if only for a price. Frankly: I didn't need to know much more. Releasedate: March 3rd 2020


4. Meteor – Anna Marie McLemore and Tehlor Kay Meija This book is my wildcard on this list, as I basically know nothing about it, other than a single sentence, and the promise of 2 amazing authors having written it. Nonetheless: that was enough for me. To quote the only Goodreads synopsis available at the moment: HarperCollins has bought Meteor by Anna-Marie McLemore and Tehlor Kay Mejia, in which two friends, one made of stardust and one fighting to save her family's diner, take on their small town's 50th annual pageant and talent competition in the hopes that they can change their town's destiny, and their own. Releasedate: September 22nd 2020


5. The Silvered Serpents - Roshani Chokshi Last but not least: The Silvered Serpents it the highly anticipated sequel to The Gilded Wolves, which I read and loved at the beginning of 2019. Although this series was quite polarizing and left people either loving or hating it, there are plenty of us still extremely excited to see how the story of Séverin and his unlikely heistcrew unfolds next. Releasedate: September 22nd 2020



Follow me on Goodreads to stay up to date with my daily reading, and stay tuned this week for more 2019 in Review.